RSS

Daughter of No One

01 Jan

What do I have to do?

To get you to notice me too.

I got this Malaysian hair new.

Eyelashes and this flashy shoe.

Hoping it will make you to.

Turn me into your beau.



My name ends not.

With a hyphen but a dot.

I have an appendage glut.

No prefix to be sought.

All doors to me have been shut.

Cos I am Ms So and So not.



Just give me a chance.

To prove to you I have fans.

In the ball room I can dance.

My character I’ll enhance.

I will not bow to happenstance.

I’ll let nothing be an encumberance.



See, I can laugh like the elite.

With their intelligence I can compete.

Like the buorgeoisie I greet.

Mixed accents, a dash of conceit.

Come with me take a seat.

Table the caviar and sushi, let’s eat



What do I have to do?

To get you to notice me too.

I have to be a Buhari.

To get to marry an Indimi

I have to be a Dangote.

To attract a prince, make him stay.



I am the Daughter of No One

So destined

I am 

To perish as Mrs No One.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 1, 2017 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , ,

What do you think?

 
