RSS

What Do Women Really Want?

01 Nov

I have been pondering this question for some time now. From the day I had an extensive argucussion with my friend Yomi Adegboye, die hard cynic, who believes women do not exactly know what they want.

Yomi believes there is something inherently confusing about women. From the lady that tells you, ‘don’t call me again, we are done’ and then begrudges you for not calling to see if she will change her mind, to the one that says to you: I’m fine, while she is about to blow a brain fuse, women seem to be consistently inconsistent in their display of confusion.

I tend to agree with Yomi mostly, though its only logical that I argue. I mean, accepting what he says seems to amount to cutting off your nose to spite your face. It would seemingly amount to accepting that women, no matter how intelligent they may tend to be, mostly remain at the same point in the creative chain where God told Eve, ‘your craving will be for your husband’.

Craving.

One dictionary defines ‘craving’ as a ‘great or eager desire. Yearning. An intense desire for some particular thing’. You can then think of a pregnant woman who has a craving for a particular meal. To what extent do you think she would go to get it? I had this friend who smelt a particular kind of cooked rice in the market and went begging for it.

Indeed, a woman’s craving for a man could make her do irrational things including saying what she does not mean or meaning what she does not say.

When women give out these confusing signals, it gives certain men the cue to go ahead and try to push a woman into saying yes after she has said no. And then when he does, she turns around to say he did not respect her feelings.

*Sigh

I am a woman myself and I find this attitude confusing, even when I indulge in it. After being a woman for close to four decades I still do not know for sure what a woman really wants.

I have seen women married to kind hearted men who take them for granted because they say the man is too soft. I have seen women married to wife beaters who will die first before they agree to leave the man. I have seen women who a man provides everything materially possible for and yet they prefer to be with a guy who has nothing to offer. I have seen women who a man is struggling to give the best but they prefer a ready made man.

I guess in the final analysis, you can’t lump all women together and ask them what do women really want. The want changes per woman. More interestingly, it changes per man that she meets…I think.

What do you think?

 
11 Comments

Posted by on November 1, 2013 in Relationships

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “What Do Women Really Want?

  1. olajumoke Akomolede

    November 1, 2013 at 6:07 pm

    Hmmm.I think I so much agree with you.there are times we can’t even predict what we can/can’t do. work of nature #smiles

     
    • anagail

      November 2, 2013 at 2:48 am

      Yeah. Nature.

       
  2. naijawife

    November 3, 2013 at 12:55 am

    Exactly. Every woman is different

     
  3. Olufunmi

    November 3, 2013 at 10:01 am

    Women don’t know what they want until they see it. I think that tallies with your last statement…. “it changes per man that she meets”.

     
  4. ekeleme chioma

    November 6, 2013 at 9:40 am

    it is an individual thing. Yet, most women are exactly what you said.

     
  5. This is intresting.

    November 6, 2013 at 2:42 pm

    This is intresting.

     
    • anagail

      November 7, 2013 at 7:32 am

      You think? LOL

       
  6. poisefreak

    November 7, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    I think at 25 I can qualify to call myself a woman… And frankly, I can tell you that I only stop thinking clearly when I feel I am in love with someone. At that point, I really never know what I want. And being someone who is accustomed to being hurt (I get lovestruck easily), it is always very difficult for me to stay focused. Been in love with someone who rejected me, we have an off and on thing, and I know its bad for me,but I get so confused I cannot take a chance on being safe for my sake. And the worse part is I know so well that I am confused…. Makes me wish I was born a Man everytime… Or that I would never fall in love…. Cool story huh…

     
    • anagail

      November 7, 2013 at 7:12 pm

      No, more like true to life

       
  7. elsieisy

    November 30, 2013 at 8:50 am

    Yeap, It truly changes per men that she meets. That’s just the truth. Nice write up as always

     
  8. What Men Really Want

    April 16, 2014 at 6:05 pm

    Added to FeedBurner as well. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You amazingly have amazing stories. Thanks a bunch for revealing your webpage.

     

What do you think?

 
