RSS

When Women were Girls

05 Oct

One of the TV shows that ashaped my life as I was growing up was ‘ Sesame Street’. I was great friends with Big Bird, Oscar the Grouch, Big Bird’s imaginary friend Mr Snuffleopagus (?), Ernie and Bert, Bob and Susan and a whole lot more. I learnt a lot about counting and reading and togetherness from Sesame Street. It was always a race to sit in front of the TV once its 4 pm.

My sister and I still have a lot of inside jokes from Sesame Street. Phrases like ‘me help’, ‘Fred, foot, Friday’, ‘the golden “N”, ‘count fire engines’, and songs like ‘long distance Clara’ are often fondly remembered. And who would forget ‘The Count’ and his rather outrageous laughter!

Then there also was ‘The Muppet Show’ with Kermit the Frog ans Miss Piggy. LOL. There was the bear (can’t remember his joke on the show) but I remember one of his jokes:

‘A bear appeared on stage to perform and someone from the audience screamed “good grief, the comedian’s a bear’, and he responded, “no, he is not a-bare, he is a wearing a neckie tie’ LOL
(Sorry if you didn’t get the joke)

There were also these two guys who ran commentaries on the Muppet show who were always playing contrarian. One starts off saying the act was rotten while the other would say it was great and at the end of the conversation, they would end up on opposite sides with one shouting ‘more’ and the other shouting ‘boo’ (reminds me of Twitter folks that can’t seem to make up their minds, LOL)

Then there was the seemingly endless array of cartoons available on TV: one of the most popular then was ‘Voltron’: The legend of Voltron has it that Voltron was a peace keeper for all the good planets of the solar system who formed a galaxy alliance. Until a new horrible menace swept through the galaxy. Voltron is the story of the super force of space explorers, specially trained and sent by the alliance to bring back Voltron, defender of the universe (so before you go forming Voltron for anyone make sure they are good people. LOL) Of course the evil Zelda was always coming up with a row(?) beast but Voltron would always destroy them with his blazing sword!

There were a bunch of others like Scoobie Doo, Pow (dunno if that’s the title, LOL) Godzilla, G Force, (aaaargh, getting too old to remember more ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ) Oh, but there were other shows like ‘The Wonder Years’ and I can’t seem to forget ‘The Scarlet Pimpernel’ which showed as a Sunday afternoon matinee:

‘They look for him here, they look for him there. French people look for him everywhere. Is he in heaven or is he in hell?’ LOL

Okay, this really has been lots of fun. Can you remember your favourite TV shows from growing up years? Pray, share ๐Ÿ™‚

A young man I used to be, I have also grown old – Psalm 37: 25a NWT

 
15 Comments

Posted by on October 5, 2013 in Thirty-Eight

 

Tags: ,

15 responses to “When Women were Girls

  1. jemila

    October 5, 2013 at 5:38 am

    Ok, it was the golden “AN” , long distance clara was on another show called pigeon street, the bear on the muppet show was called Fuzzy bear . The witch in voltron was Hagar , Zelda is from another show called terra hawks. Other shows then, super ted, danger mouse, doctor who, dodo, jimbo, pigeon street, bertha, robin hood, ivanhoe, prince and the pauper, square one,……….. I could go on and on because I loved watching television and I still do.

     
    • anagail

      October 5, 2013 at 7:00 am

      Er…the golden N eas on sesame street. ‘I shall take the golden N and put it in a van and drive it to a man named Fran, that’s the plan” ‘thats the plan” who said that” “you are under arrest for trying to steal the golden N”| just a short skit in one episode that I dont seem to forget. Yepo, you are right it was Hagar the witch, I keep mixing up hagar and Zelda. And yes, I do remember Terra hawks too.Thanks. So that long distance clara song was from pigeon street? LOL. “when you walk through pigeon street, here are the people you would meet”… You have quite a memory! Thanks for all the reminders ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  2. famuyideolawale

    October 5, 2013 at 9:20 am

    Wow, your memory is still fresh, I knew I watched sesame street, but up till now, I had forgotten the character, even voltron. I also grew up watching power rangers, ninja turtles, He Man, Danger mouse, etc. Btw I still do watch them.

     
    • anagail

      October 5, 2013 at 9:35 am

      Not so fresh o. Me I am still a great fan of cartoons ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  3. tianasagoh

    October 5, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    Never really been a tv person. Always found my father’s transistor radio to be better company. There’s hardly any song I don’t know.
    But I had to remember Voltron cuz I still call people that.

     
    • anagail

      October 5, 2013 at 4:23 pm

      Well, I did a lot of radio too. Pop round the world with Patrick Oke ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  4. highlandblue

    October 6, 2013 at 8:08 am

    I was still young when these shows were on. I didn’t even know Snaffleophagus was imaginary lol. And I didn’t know the whole point of Voltron until I read it here. All I knew was that the sword must show before the bad guys are dealt with. I can’t go into my childhood cartoons now. Would be a separate blog post on its own. I didn’t get any of your inside jokes either lol

     
    • anagail

      October 6, 2013 at 10:40 am

      Lol. The comedian is not a-bare (bear and bare are homophobes) meaning he is not wearing clothes but can also mean he is not a bear the animal, see the pun? He is wearing a necktie. The audience was scared of the bear, but he turned it into a joke, he is not bare. Hope you get it now.

       
      • tianasagoh

        October 6, 2013 at 10:44 am

        I got it the first time I read it. Does this increase my cool points? ^_^

         
      • anagail

        October 6, 2013 at 10:49 am

        Well, since we are family and stuff…your cool points are always on the high side. LOL

         
      • highlandblue

        October 6, 2013 at 10:45 am

        I get it but it’s still not funny to me ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

         
      • anagail

        October 6, 2013 at 10:50 am

        Well maybe if you hear me say the joke, you will laugh. LOL. I could actually send it as a voice note.

         
  5. Lady of Wealth, Platinum Member 'siddon look' twitter

    October 6, 2013 at 7:09 pm

    Does Power rangers. Dexter’s lab, and power puff girls count? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ LOL.. Love(d) Scoobie doo, Flinstones, Tom & Jerry. Godzilla, sesame street and voltron, I watched,But the memories have faded ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

     
    • anagail

      October 6, 2013 at 7:10 pm

      LOL. They all count ๐Ÿ™‚

       
      • Lady of Wealth, Platinum Member 'siddon look' twitter

        October 6, 2013 at 7:12 pm

        Yaaaaay!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

         

What do you think?

 
