RSS

Vanity!

03 Oct

At night, when sleep flees
Thoughts awandering
Nightmares without dreams
Hopelessness, despair
Will he come back to me?
Will I ever get that child?
Will I become rich?
Will she say yes?
Will I ever smile again?

Morning comes, eyes peeled
Mind aworking
Sleep walking, without sleep
Torn, forlorn
Will the demons go away?
Will my parents ever understand me?
Why did they abandon me?
Will I achieve my dreams?
Will I ever make my own choices?

Darkness comes, death’s knock
Thoughts ahalted
Laid to rest.

“The greatest vanity!” the congregator has said, “the greatest vanity! Everything is vanity!” – Eccl 1:2 NWT

 
14 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2013 in Thirty-Eight

 

Tags:

14 responses to “Vanity!

  1. famuyideolawale

    October 3, 2013 at 6:08 am

    We human are easily distracted by the shadow, while we lose focus of the substance. Chasing the created with all our strength and losing touch with the creator. “Everything is permissible (allowable and lawful) for me; but not all things are helpful (good for me to do, expedient and profitable when considered with other things). Everything is lawful for me, but I will not become the slave of anything or be brought under its power” (1 Corinthians 6:12 Amp).
    Timely reminder Abby.

     
    • anagail

      October 3, 2013 at 8:02 am

      I’m happy you liked it.

       
  2. Ivy

    October 3, 2013 at 6:49 am

    “Seek ye first the Kingdom of God, everyother thing shall be added unto you”
    I wish I remember this all the time.

     
  3. DR ERHUMU

    October 3, 2013 at 6:50 am

    My own interpretation: Worry not, take one day at a time, we cannot add anything to life or take anything from it.

     
  4. IykeDexter

    October 3, 2013 at 6:54 am

    Our everyday worries, very few thinking about the ultimate goal, sitting at the right hand of the father.

     
    • anagail

      October 3, 2013 at 8:01 am

      For we have brought nothing into the world

       
  5. tianasagoh

    October 3, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    Life of many, aptly summarized.
    May God give us the grace to focus on the needful.

     
  6. Lady of Wealth, Platinum Member 'siddon look' twitter

    October 3, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    ‘One day at a time, one step at a time… ‘

     
  7. myk3z

    October 3, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    Worry less, Live more. Sweet

     

What do you think?

 
