RSS

A Prayer

30 Sep

I wish I could never hurt a friend
That I was like a saint
With no taint
Perfect
That I can do no wrong
Like an angelic throng
I wish I could never hurt a friend

Here I am in the state imperfect
Full of things vile like a dirt pile
Heart battling with guile
Defective
Unworthy of you
Unable to be true
Here I am in the state imperfect

Would you still accept me?
Will you still condone me?
My transgressions?
Would you shut your eyes?
Will you hold out your hands?
And say friends again?
Would you still accept me?

“Come now, let us reason together,”
Says the Lord. “Though your sins
Are like scarlet, they shall be as
White as snow; though they are red
As crimson, they shall be as wool”
– Isaiah 1:18 KJ21

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2013 in Thirty-Eight

 

Tags:

8 responses to “A Prayer

  1. Noel Ihebuzor

    October 1, 2013 at 12:29 am

    Beautiful. Touching. Humility redeeems and elevates. Magnificat and Psalm 51 blend in many ways here

     
    • anagail

      October 1, 2013 at 4:26 am

      Thank you sir.

       
  2. famuyideolawale

    October 1, 2013 at 6:36 am

    Powerful words, sincere prayers. Nice one “the woman Abigail”

     
    • anagail

      October 1, 2013 at 6:45 am

      Thank you. Glad you liked it

       
  3. bubsy

    October 1, 2013 at 7:36 am

    Who can attain perfection? Only God. Nice one there. Love it.

     
  4. Ebun Oluwole

    October 1, 2013 at 10:23 am

    I liked this!

     

What do you think?

 
