RSS

My Twitter Experience 2

22 Sep

So after the post yesterday, I spent some time going through my Twitter archive. And I had a lot of fun going back 2 years. 69k tweets??!! That’s like almost 100 tweets per day! What in heavens name have I even been talking about 😐 No need to whisper it, I am an addict 😦

Over the past years, friends have come and gone. There are certain handles I saw in my archives that I have either unfollowed or blocked. In fact, I have never in my entire Twitter evolution followed more than 200 handles at any point in time. This is very deliberate.

For one thing, I am very pernickety about what I take into my mind. So I’m naturally drawn to people who keep their TL’s clean. And by clean, I mean they are not abusive bullies. I also keep clear of people who “twit laik this”. I mean, you have 140 characters, true, shouldn’t you first write your tweet with proper spellings before you edit with standard short forms? I remember a young lady I unfollowed because of this crazy spelling in the early days. She didn’t find it funny. I still don’t know why people are so bothered when people unfollow them on Twitter, does it affect anyone’s account balance?

Also, I don’t have a Twitter list. So my timeline is my list. I read almost everything that comes on it. So, I would unfollow anyone who is making my stay on Twitter painful. I don’t follow GEJ bashers. I have had to unfollow a number of handles because I see all they do is practically hunt for ways to make silly jokes of the first family. And before you ask, I am not a GEJ supporter either. I just don’t laugh at jokes that come in bad taste. Like all the GEJ, ‘I had no shoes jokes’ or the Dame ” she can’t speak English jokes”. I hate it when people pick on people.

Rude and obnoxious people are a huge turn off. I’ve come to know certain handles that trade on this commodity and I cannot follow them even if they were the last handle on Twitter. And if by some error of judgement I follow them, I unfollow as soon as I can.

Funny though it may seem, I give a lot of thought to who I follow on Twitter. I mostly investigate handles I follow. I will often ask my twitter budies what they know about a particular handle before I follow. I try to have a representative or two from each Twitter that I can ask when I get a follow and I’m considering reciprocating with a followback. I hardly ever initiate follows. I must have initiated follows for less that 20 people in the last two years. No, I’m not full of myself, I’m just shy.

Most of the handles I followed from two years ago…I don’t even follow anymore but quite a number have survived and we still mutually follow each other. I believe they are the real heroes. I already mentioned 3 in my previous post. Let me mention 7 more from 2 years ago if I can find that much: @stanleyazuakola (who has since become a very dear friend) he is editor of The Scoopng. @Je_mc2 (introduced to me by Stanley) we have managed to maintain a respectful relationship – a real miracle judging by how I’m always on his case on Twitter. @xlizitsouljah, @keniscruise, @vanessakanu,my twaughter @mopearla and @oluphumee. There’s also @Gidi_traffic that I watched grow from begging for followbacks to over 70k followers. Did I mention @redbruv? Yes, he is a survivor from early days.

It’s still a mystery to me that people follow me on Twitter. Sometimes I wonder why they do. I’m still hoping for a sincere answer. For me, I follow people I can have a conversation with like @HL_Blue, @jesseOguns and @TS_tiana; people I can learn from like @DoubleEph, @Supersanusi and @MrBankole; people I can troll like @famuyideolawale, @Shimoshi1 and @tonypox. I think all my Twitter follows fall into these three categories. In fact, if we follow each other and we don’t tweet at each other, I don’t favourite your tweets nor do I retweet you, its a sign of a break up in the offing. LOL.

So why do you follow people on Twitter and do you even bother to give a thought to each follow? You know the comments section is my best section after each blog post, right?

Meanwhile, I should share life lessons I have gained from being on Twitter or maybe some p-setting stories ;). See you tomorrow 🙂
      
At once they left their nets and followed him-Matthew 4:20 NIV

 
28 Comments

Posted by on September 22, 2013 in Thirty-Eight

 

Tags:

28 responses to “My Twitter Experience 2

  1. Ivy

    September 23, 2013 at 6:07 am

    Awwwwwwww.

    Cryinggggggggg. Abby where is my handle. Abbbbbbbbbbyyyyyyyyy, whereeeeeeee issssss myyyyyyy handleeeeeeeeee!

     
    • anagail

      September 23, 2013 at 12:25 pm

      LOL. Patience my sister 🙂

       
  2. Tomisin Ajiboye

    September 23, 2013 at 12:53 pm

    LOL…this is just like reading through your TL again. Errrrmm…Why do I follow people on Twitter? At first I don’t ask for a follow back because if you ask me I might ignore and not follow back. Basically, I follow people on twitter because they might have said something interesting at on time or engaged me in a conversation. May be. Other than that, I fall in love or respect certain handles,so I tend to follow them. And, I keep a list, besides I am no addict so, I can just stroll in and vamoose anytime I want. I like control, a lot. Dazzall!

     
    • anagail

      September 23, 2013 at 12:59 pm

      Really? and here I was believing I’m sounding all different and deep 😐 Thanks for dropping by

       
  3. famuyideolawale

    September 23, 2013 at 1:08 pm

    Troll category. At least I have some good company. Looool. Anyway, I did a craze follow last year, I follow almost every “overlords” in tech, design and politic. But since march this year, I have unfollowed more than 70% of the overlords I follow. And I don’t really give not to ” pls am nff you, kfb” To me, your following me shouldn’t be because you want me to follow you. And I have made it a rule that the number of people that follow me must double even triple the number of those I follow. There are some very popular handle that it has never cross my mind to follow. Why? Don’t kw. And my hands is playing on the unfollow button again, this time on the canal family, the oversabi.

     
    • anagail

      September 23, 2013 at 1:15 pm

      Canal family? er… LOL

       
  4. Ebun Oluwole

    September 23, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    I’m very particular about the type of people I follow on Twitter. I’m not a fan of anything sexual,as well as ridiculous abbreviations,and politics. I follow people that are knowledgable and witty. I need to be able to laugh and learn simultaneously.

     
    • anagail

      September 23, 2013 at 1:15 pm

      It’s good to have follow policies 🙂

       
    • highlandblue

      September 23, 2013 at 9:25 pm

      You’re not a fan of anything sexual? 😦

       
      • Ebun Oluwole

        September 25, 2013 at 1:52 pm

        Nahh i’m not 🙂

         
      • anagail

        September 25, 2013 at 2:44 pm

        😦

         
  5. tonypox

    September 23, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    hehehehehe. my handle gets mentioned. wow! *waves to my subject, while dodging pure water satchets* hahahahaha. i generally follow back even though i still have to read through your BIO and TL sometimes. if all you do is tweet links, no way. i mat follow a lot of people but many are in the “jump and pass category”.

     
    • anagail

      September 23, 2013 at 1:14 pm

      Excuse me, I have a trademark on ‘jump and pass’ use with respect 😐

       
  6. enajyte

    September 23, 2013 at 1:37 pm

    The day I figured out how I wanted twitter to work for me, I became more conscious of who I follow. I follow handles with similar interests (reading, writing, graphics, football) and people I admire in real life. I give a bit of thought to each follow. I go on your TL and read your most recent tweets to get an idea of what to expect. I’m very particular about what I read, constant pointless profanity is a no. Tweeting only links to your blog, no. Spammers, no. Retweeters, no. Updates on your every action, no. Etc etc

     
    • anagail

      September 23, 2013 at 1:42 pm

      I love your interests 🙂

       
  7. bukiola

    September 23, 2013 at 2:46 pm

    I follow about 6categories of people on twitter: Politics, Economics,Footbal( Mostly Arsenal fans), Enterprenuers,sensible bloggers(forgive my french), the funny guys(sirkastiq and sir scribble).
    I wonder why some people get angry when they get unfollowed. There is a bigger life and bigger issues outside twitter.

     
    • anagail

      September 23, 2013 at 3:43 pm

      Aaah. Sensible bloggers is necessary. Hmm, I shd try out these funny guys. Never followed any of them.

       
  8. Lady of Wealth, Platinum Member 'siddon look' twitter

    September 23, 2013 at 6:38 pm

    So i might get unffwd soon? *bursts into tears* 😦
    ”I still don’t know why people are so bothered when people unfollow them on Twitter, does it affect anyone’s account balance” It can affect the stock market o… LOL
    I follow pple that make me think (positively), inspire me,are funny… however I review my ffs from time to time, ’cause sometimes i follow ‘anyhow’ and regret later..

     
    • anagail

      September 23, 2013 at 7:24 pm

      Why? LOL. We interact on Twiitter now. LOL.

       
  9. Lanre Ajakaiye

    September 23, 2013 at 7:25 pm

    Why do I follow you? Difficult to answer such a question but I know these two reason are right up there. (1) You are witty (2) You think

     
    • anagail

      September 23, 2013 at 7:39 pm

      Hmmm. Thank God they are not down there :p. Thanks for dropping by 🙂

       
  10. tiana

    September 23, 2013 at 8:09 pm

    I already did an analysis on people I follow and why I follow them on my TL some weeks ago. Lemme just say some here.

    Since I’m an accountant and me and my colleagues cant be balancing account on the TL, I find myself following these category of tweeters – Funny people because I’m steady on the LOL-athon lane, Many writers (my dream), My senior colleagues in the wives and shege jagwa association, fitfam, any every other account that tweets beauty tips because I’m a closet vain sister. Politics, no! Football, considering! See how @anabagail falls into like 3 categories!

    Stuck with a few old mates I followed in 2010 that are now tweeting what i dont know. will do justice to those ones soon. It doesn’t mean we’re no longer cool.

     
    • anagail

      September 23, 2013 at 8:20 pm

      Waiiiiiiiiit. Did you just put me inside LOL-athon lane? LOL. Me I am too old for Shege Jagwa things and as for writing , I’m still a learner o

       
      • tianasagoh

        September 23, 2013 at 10:19 pm

        So you’re denying your ‘LOL-ing’ trophy abi?! And no, I put you in the senior colleague part of the wives association. Errm…is this an unconscious declaration of your being an un-fitfam? LOL

         
      • anagail

        September 23, 2013 at 10:53 pm

        Yinmu. Im fitter than you girl. Don’t even go there :p

         
  11. Olufunmi

    September 24, 2013 at 11:32 am

    Real hero and twaughter. Beat that! *moonwalks into swimming pool* LOL

     
  12. Olufunmi

    September 24, 2013 at 11:35 am

    Classification: Real heroine. Beat that! *moonwalks into swimming pool* LOL

     

What do you think?

 
