RSS

My Twitter Experience

21 Sep

So I decided that maybe today would be a great day as any to talk about the one Social media platform that has had the most impact on me and where I spend most of my time- Twitter.

About 2 years ago, I think July a Facebook friend told me I was using Facebook like Twitter and that it would be more fun if I moved there. Well in my usual resistance to change characteristic, I refused. I was fine where I was. I had just discovered some of my friends from 20 years back and it was too much fun hanging out with them. But Segun Abisagbo @segebee on Twitter insisted.

Well, he got me to open a Twitter account. Its was a cold first week. I couldn’t understand how you would join a conversation and people would totally ignore you…and I couldn’t understand the follow back craze. Plus, the mediocre abbreviations was driving me crazy. I was seeing little girls showing off their nudity and silly spellings with thousands of followers. Nah, I didn’t want to be there.

After the first week, I told Segun I was leaving. I was going back to my Facebook frends who liked and appreciated me. But, Segun pleaded that I should give Twitter a chance. He also encouraged me to follow a few suggested handles that he believed were fun. He tried to explain that how you felt about twitter actually depended on people you follow.   

So I stayed. I followed foreign news handles and a few Nigerians that I found interesting. I think my first few follows included @bragginrightz, @videoboiawizzle (Funny I still follow those two crazy fellas who coincidentally share the same birthday). And Twitter started becoming more interesting. LOL. At some point I hardly logged on to Facebook anymore. I had been “twitterised”.

Well, it wasn’t long before I started stepping on toes on twitter (covers face). I just had a way of rubbing people the wrong way.

First, it was my views on Nollywood. I was (still do) work with Nollywood and so I did some tweets on poor quality of Nollywood movies. I remember clearly two unfollows from my tweets (Of course, I shall not dignfy them with a mention on my blog :p)

Then there were people who would look at my very low follow count and couldn’t understand why I wouldn’t follow back. I remember back in the day each time someone says followback, I tweet them back and ask where they are going. LOL. Someone once said Ffback ASAP and I responded with O_o. He didn’t find it funny.

Well, I think right from the start I set a standard for myself. I never allowed myself to be swayed by popular opinion. The first test came in January 2012, durng the fuel subsidy protests. I had a lot of unfollows from people I thought I was chummy with because they couldn’t understand why I wouldn’t come out to Ojota or at least tweet in support of their protests. It was a rather sad time for me but I am glad I stayed true to my principles.

One thing I have learnt over the years is that Twitter never forgets. In fact, I tell my friends that you really shouldn’t fear people who retweet  you, rather be very scared of people who favourite your tweets. LOL. You never know when your tweet will be unearthed and people will ask you: did you say this last year? LOL

I really should stop here for today. Let me share more about my Twitter experience tomorrow. Meanwhile, if you are on Twitter, can you remember when you joined and why? Who was the first person you followed? Please use the comment box. LOL

For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind – 2nd Tim 1:7 NKJV
   

 
50 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2013 in Thirty-Eight

 

50 responses to “My Twitter Experience

  1. famuyideolawale

    September 22, 2013 at 6:00 am

    Nice start. In my own case, I can’t remember who I followed first or when I joined. But, I remembered that it was @MrBankole who sold the idea of using twitter to me. As usual in his passionate manner, he told me the wonderment of “instant reply” and “intellectual convo”. And I joined and its been……
    Waiting for part 2 tomorrow. 🙂

     
    • anagail

      September 22, 2013 at 6:45 am

      Aaah Lordbanks. I follow him too 🙂

       
  2. spacyzuma

    September 22, 2013 at 6:37 am

    I joined twitter in June/July 2009.
    I made my first tweet, and didn’t tweet again for more than a year.
    First person I followed was P. Diddy @iamdiddy. I no longer follow him (I avoid following celebrities).
    The next tweep I followed was my former classmate Bayo @boyotwt and I still follow him.

    I’m also not a fan of the followback craze. It’s annoying. On my profile, I posted “I rarely followback” but the requests keep coming. I’m not interested in having a large number of followers. If your tweets won’t educate, entertain, stimulate or engage me, I won’t follow.

     
  3. highlandblue

    September 22, 2013 at 6:42 am

    I joined twitter because of two of my friends Wole and Amina. They said it was some wild jungle where only the strong survived and I think I wanted the challenge. First handle I followed was Wole’s and I still think it’s the best twitter handle I follow @AlChemistXIII. Amina decided to close her twitter account (or open an anonymous one I know nothing about)

     
    • anagail

      September 22, 2013 at 6:46 am

      Waiiiiiiit. Alchemist is your friend? Damn!

       
      • highlandblue

        September 22, 2013 at 6:58 am

        Lol I’m surprised you didn’t know. Well you’re one of my recent followers. We met in school and were mini study partners. I was his wingman too lol

         
      • anagail

        September 22, 2013 at 7:05 am

        Hmm. I got to leeeaarn to not talk too fast then. *sigh

         
  4. laoluadek

    September 22, 2013 at 7:07 am

    I can’t even remember who encouraged me, I think I just joined after like 2years of disinterest, so I followed a few friends and I got bored cuz ppl weren’t replying, then I followed too many ppl who dint even acknowledge me. So I chose ppl who I valued and continued. Then I remember the day I had more followers than I was following. Lool
    I think my highlight was Alibaba following back and aunty Funmi Iyanda. Well long epistle, twitter has its days and on some days like the year I tweeted Jesus wasn’t born on DEC 25 and someone dint even let me land…(˘̯˘ ) ( ˘˘̯) . I love twitter all d same.:)

     
    • anagail

      September 22, 2013 at 7:21 am

      Early days on Twitter is definitely the craziest.

       
  5. Simon

    September 22, 2013 at 7:14 am

    Yesterday I requested my Twitter archives and I laughed all morning. My early days were something else, I definitely joined Twitter when the people were nicer. Before the Twitter cliques, crazy tweetpics and Tweet-fights, it was fun. I knew @videoboiAwizzle from Facebook through another birthday mate of ours (oh, she has blocked me too by the way).

    As far as I’m concerned Twitter is an alternate version of existence, the handles from my twitter archives are very strange to me now. I had @RarestRay I was following on Twitter but went back on Facebook to block her and surprisingly we’re pals now. I’m not necessarily the @BragginRightz on Twitter, I’d like people to see me as Simon everywhere else but as soon as I log on on that website I’m Braagggggg… That’s twisted I know. I remember during the subsidy crisis myself and Madam Abigail (note the ‘madam’ part pleassse) were at opposing camps. We argued basically everyday but she’s someone I definitely respect on and off Twitter. She’s given advice I’ll never be thankful enough for, she’s my padi off Twitter ke. Yes ke, my realest padi.

    Okay, okay this is not a life story but I’m thankful I never closed my account like I’ve contemplated many times. Yeah, I remember begging her not to close her account once too.. But whether I like to admit it or not, beautiful people no matter where you meet them will add value to your life. Abigail and Awizzle are perfect examples. And thanks for mentioning me. Swooossshhhhhhhhhh! -_____-

     
    • anagail

      September 22, 2013 at 7:23 am

      Hahaha. You remember that. Funny I’ve stopped ffing the other person who made not leave 😐
      P.s thanks for the very flowery blog post hahaha

       
  6. bukiola

    September 22, 2013 at 7:33 am

    Interesting piece. I randomly joined twitter sometimes in 09. I followed Serena Williams, I was shocked she was the only one I kept seeing on my page, each time I logged in(Ddnt know how it works then). I got tired of seeing just her and logged out completely.
    In 2010, I Met Kartoon and Awizi, and they educated me on how it works. I followed them, watched their TL and I started following interesting handles, but I follow those that ask for it.
    My friend Le_maxx joined twitter n it became interesting.I followed Toolsman, then Kelvin, when he was still normal, before he became Saka :). I followed Simeon(Braggin). I Rem Efe(Highland_Blue). He was a serious ‘commenter’ on Naked convos then.very serious christian brothers. We couldn’t wait for him to join twitter :).
    It has been an interesting journey and I have learnt a lot from twitter. I pick the lesson,vital information and stay away from the drama.

     
    • anagail

      September 22, 2013 at 10:10 am

      Hahaha @ Efe being a serius commenter. Never thought of Highlandblue and serious in ne sentence. Those must have been the days. LOL

       
  7. @videoboiawizzle

    September 22, 2013 at 7:52 am

    1st of all i have to say..hmmnn that is how ABIGAIL COME TURN TWEETER CELEB FOR MY VERY OWN EYES O! actually cant remember whom it was i followed 1st on twitter, but i know this @videoboiawizzle handle i run now actually isn’t my first handle, i cant remember my 1st handle and i cant ever remember the password, that was because i carry follow follow joint twitter like the 2nd week it opened and i didn’t understand it so i EXED! i later rejoined june 09 and since then i’ve gotten into some spats and i’ve so decided to mind my business cos on twitter everyone body na mate, plagiarizers piss me off and folks that ‘k’ your tweets (Abigail signature) have been murdered in my imaginations, i have killed Abigail many many times). i remember during the election and i tried to warn people about the dangers of voting GEJ as president and i and Abigail got into it, we also got into it about the Ojota campaign.. lmao Abigail too stubborn, but i love her. i remember when folks started un-following her and we would have private discussions about the matter, wish i could name some of those people, i’m tempted to.. lmao! all that is past now o! i don’t tweet as much as i used to anymore, but i’m always there and i follow some amazing people with beautiful minds. i just hate to get into arguments with ignorant strangers. but i love tweeter sha. @simon is ma nigga for days.. no be mistake sey dem born us on the same day. funny enuff Abigail starred in my dreams through the night.

     
    • anagail

      September 22, 2013 at 10:12 am

      And the Wizzle himself makes an appearance. LOL. Those ones that unfollowed eh. Hahaha. Me and you can never agree on GEJ fa. Let’s just leave it like that.

       
  8. czarohm

    September 22, 2013 at 8:50 am

    Waoh! My twitter experience is 10 months and yes it’s been fun, challenging, interesting and educative. @muyisco introduced and educate me about twitter and was my first follow. Then my journey to unravel mysteries and understand insight Nigeria politics begin, my early days were used to criticize GEJ and praise-worship some twitter overlords! But sincerely twitter effect on me is awesome, I learn to understand my environment and appreciate talents & exceptional folks! Will forever be indebted to @survivor17, @AABORODE, @scandalfree et.al for steadfastness.

     
    • anagail

      September 22, 2013 at 10:14 am

      Hmmm. I see. So you are from poltical twitter? LOL

       
  9. enajyte

    September 22, 2013 at 10:44 am

    I can’t remember when or why I opened my account or the first handle I followed. I just did it and forgot about it. I was all about facebook till maybe four months ago when I decided to give Twitter a shot. I read a lot of “how to use twitter” articles and plunged in and it’s been great. It’s kinda weird that of the people I follow only 1 is my friend in real life. I follow the most interesting mix of writers, writers and writers.

     
    • anagail

      September 22, 2013 at 2:56 pm

      LOL. Writing Twitter is fun 🙂

       
  10. hollasheni

    September 22, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    Waoh my twitter experience… well I opened the first account around ’09. My present handle is the 2nd… it came to life on a Sunday evening at the Palms Mall where I was trying to get a CD upstairs(HUB). stumbled into this delicious lady and we walked over to the eatery section. She asked if I tweet, all she wanted was for me to follow her to grow her followership… there and then she opened new account for me and she was my first follower… the rest is history… atleast I’ve come to meet the twitter ‘Thatcher’ as my friend @famuyideolawale calls aunty Aby’… a very awesome personality!

     
    • anagail

      September 22, 2013 at 2:57 pm

      Hmmm. Please stop washing :p

       
  11. CuteDollars

    September 22, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    Nice one! *reminiscing*.
    I joined Twitter, in 2011, while I was in Law School because I was fed up with Facebook and needed “excitement” (Boi! Did I get it?! LOL), plus a friend of mine @adorablekasy kept going on about it. Always punching her keyboard and laughing out loud. Frankly, I envied her her “exciting” twitter life. Naturally, she was one of the 1st people I followed, alongside Sylvester Macauley @slydpoet, Paula Abdul @PaulaAbdul, one crazy chic called VivianSleek aka Donjazzy and Fally Ipupa’s wife (LOL), she has since fallen off the grid, and @TweetOracle. For months, I enjoyed TweetOracle’s tweets, we even became Twitter “buddies”, then I got bored. I unfollowed him in August or so, he reciprocated.
    Its been a rollercoaster ride. One I’ve inmmensely enjoyed. I’m not fan of the follow craze. Sometimes, I wanna reply follow back requests, “No! I will not follow you back.” But, “fear” of being called childish holds me back. *groans*
    @Zynnnie was one of my 1st followers. Considering the fact that we didn’t really gel in Madonna and NLS, I didn’t want to follow back but I did, and well, she really is a cool babe. *smiles*
    I’ve met some good thanks to Twitter. I’ve learned a lot too. Thumbs up to Twitter. *huge grin*

     
    • anagail

      September 22, 2013 at 11:10 pm

      Twitter hails you back. LOL

       
  12. @madamneka

    September 23, 2013 at 2:11 pm

    I read “Twitter experience 2” & had to go in search of the part 1 ofcourse. Very interesting read especially on this boring drive back to Abuja. I joined twitter in 2009 at the same time as my good friend @ifybase who introduced me to twitter. She was naturally my first follow so we basically both discovered & explored twitter together those early days. As a celebrity lover, i found it utterly amazing that i could read tweets from celebrities themselves & also get to tweet at them directly & have them read even if they choose to ignore *eye roll*. I remember my first celebrity interaction was with Kimora Lee Simmons. I got 1 retweet & 2 replies! That did it and it’s’been a real time journey since then. Highs, lows, occasional twitfights, mentions, ignorations of life, stalkers, unfollows & blocks, the peak follow seasons & i wonder what am i doing right? I am at that point however where i’ve realized like you rightly noted that my twitter experience depends on people i follow so i’m doing a gradual overhaul while keeping tweets positive & staying true to myself. One love Abigail ! :*

     
    • anagail

      September 23, 2013 at 2:24 pm

      Yes o. Nothing dey happen. LOL. I remember you were the one and only person I have begged for a follow back X_X. Love you babe!

       
  13. Irekpita's Cover

    September 23, 2013 at 3:48 pm

    My introduction to twitter was by my brother. That was how I acquired my ‘Tweet monitor’ for free. I tweeted whatever I liked and when I was going out of line, he would DM me or text me to correct me. but I thought he was being overbearing and would sub(I didn’t even know it was called a sub then) him about being a tweet monitor. Later, it dawned on me that I was projecting a brand of sorts. I adjusted and always acknowledge and thank him.
    I once corrected(with love) someone who became more interested in twitter ‘cos of me about the ‘gbagaun’ in DM o, the person went on TL to yack about not letting one down because of the errors made. Even when I said “stop asking for follow back”, I got a “how many followers do you have sef?”.
    Ehn!
    Nne never again.
    I am a member of ‘writing twitter and sometimes gospel twitter’ lol. And it has been fun cos I learn everyday.

     
    • anagail

      September 23, 2013 at 4:28 pm

      Thank you for sharing wth us 🙂

       
  14. Lady of Wealth, Platinum Member, 'siddon look' twitter

    September 23, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    ”I couldn’t understand how you would join a conversation and people would totally ignore you…” such a sad something…. 😦 LOL! I joined twitter before it became a craze… @AyoBankole led me to twitter… found it boring initially….. but picked up gradually and then registered in ‘siddon look ‘ twitter and I have been there ever since…… 🙂

     
    • anagail

      September 23, 2013 at 6:36 pm

      Aaah. Siddon look. Me and you both 🙂

       
      • Lady of Wealth, Platinum Member 'siddon look' twitter

        September 23, 2013 at 6:50 pm

        LOL No way!!!! you are more active… 🙂

         
      • anagail

        September 23, 2013 at 7:31 pm

        Well, truth is I would rather see myself as an outlier. I would blend into any part as it suits my mood. But I definitely love that fence on Siddon Look Twitter and who says we cant cheer and boo from there 🙂 :p

         
  15. @madamneka

    September 23, 2013 at 6:48 pm

    Love you too girl;)! I don’t want to get addicted to this your blog :p. What is this “writing twitter”? I’m befuddled. An insight pls. Thx.

     
    • anagail

      September 23, 2013 at 7:26 pm

      Writing Twitter is that segment of Naija Twitter that take thier writing seriously. They enter competitions and do a lot of advocacy for writers. Like them StNaija and ElNathan them.

       
    • anagail

      September 23, 2013 at 7:27 pm

      And you berra get addicted. Cos after this challenge Im going to do a regular weekly writing scheduling :p

       
  16. tiana

    September 23, 2013 at 8:27 pm

    @pastorchrislive got me to join twitter. Then he moved to yookos.com Got @mz_shadee to join too and followed her. @exschoolnerd, @sirkastiq, I followed almost all the naija celebs then. I noticed I was getting addicted and decided to step away for a bit (over 2yrs) came back in June this year, changed my handle cuz it carried my maiden name. Unfollowed all the celebs for the sanity of my TL cuz all they do is RT their fans. Recently joined anonymous twitter too…I think! x_x

     
    • Esta

      September 24, 2013 at 10:01 pm

      Which one is anonymous Twitter again?

       
      • anagail

        September 25, 2013 at 2:43 pm

        No display photo. LOL

         
  17. highlandblue

    September 23, 2013 at 9:23 pm

    You guys have funny reasons for joining lol

     
    • anagail

      September 23, 2013 at 10:52 pm

      They asked you to say your wn 😐

       
      • highlandblue

        September 24, 2013 at 4:42 am

        LOL I said it yesterday already

         
      • anagail

        September 24, 2013 at 1:35 pm

        Don’t mind me.

         
  18. Olufunmi

    September 24, 2013 at 11:15 am

    Hmmm, let me see if I remember my twitter story. Ok, I joined in July of 2009 with @phumez as my handle and I still follow my first follow @akin_mayowa. I have changed my handle 3 more times after the first because I was in love the first time (LOL) experiencing an early mid-life crises the second time (that handle was very cheesy by the way, thankfully I cant remember it). Anyways, the third and last, @oluphumee is here to stay….. Mark my words not. 🙂 I wonder what I’ve been saying all these years and over 20, 000 tweets. I’m sure I’d literally laugh my ass off if I ever went through my archives especially them emotional vents. LOL. Regardless, twitter’s still cool when you follow cool kids like yours truly…… 😀

     
    • anagail

      September 24, 2013 at 1:32 pm

      Just imagine this babe washing herself 😐

       
  19. elsieisy

    September 24, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    Lol..can’t rem the exact date I joined except I check. .I joined twitter cos of IK and Omaliicha of rythm FM. I was so fond of them and thought twitter will b the only easy way to connect with them and contribute on their programs. Then I saw first hand madness. I enjoy it all though

     
    • anagail

      September 24, 2013 at 1:33 pm

      There’s surely a method to the Twitter madness.

       
  20. Esta

    September 24, 2013 at 7:55 pm

    I wasn’t following any Nigerian handle when I first joined on Twitter. All the handles I was following were foreign handles, but I later discovered a few good Naija handles that I later followed. I usually don’t follow people because they are popular or because they follow me,I follow people because I love what they tweet. I guard my TL jealously I don’t want rubbish on it at all. I’m sure if I had followed everyone who followed me I would have had more than 5,000 followers by now, but I can’t, what’s the point of following someone you can’t relate with?

     
    • anagail

      September 25, 2013 at 2:43 pm

      Help me ask them o. LOL

       
  21. naijahusbandaijahusband

    October 16, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    sounds very similar to my twitter experience so far

     

What do you think?

 
