RSS

For Yomi, a Sonet.

19 Sep

So to what in nature shall I compare you?
What should come to mind as I think of thee?
A humming bird which out the window flew?
An eagle soaring high and wild and free?
Sometimes I sit and give it all a thought
Did we sign a pact, enter a contract?
Like a student in class answers I sought
My hand of friendship I cannot retract
Sit you here and let me tell a story
Chronicle valiant men and days of yore
Your name enshrined deep in this history
Your heart is gold, you cast out Phobetor
As sunrises East and sets in the West
So shall friendship continue without rest

image

Dedicated to my very dear friend Oluyomi Adegboye because his voice is always in my head :p

p.s I chose a sonet for Yomi because I think the structure of a sonet is rhythmic…and he has a certain rhythm to him…almost like a song 🙂

Get up early to sow your seed and in the evening fiind worthwhile things to do. For you never know which will profit you-maybe this, maybe that, maybe both. – Eccl 11:6 3 The Voice

 
13 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2013 in Thirty-Eight

 

13 responses to “For Yomi, a Sonet.

  1. famuyideolawale

    September 19, 2013 at 11:15 pm

    Arugbo yomex! Agbalagba, baba awon agbalagbi. This is a very thoughtful one from Abigail Thatcher Anaba. Sue me for that name. Hehehehe.

     
    • anagail

      September 20, 2013 at 7:41 am

      No, I won’t sue you…I can think of something worse…

       
  2. Ivy

    September 20, 2013 at 6:57 am

    Awwwwww. ” He has a certain Rhythm to him” Awwwwww, Awwwwww.

    Am just a foolish person sha. Nice Abby, keep it up.

     
    • anagail

      September 20, 2013 at 7:39 am

      Lol. Sebi you know. Na the only thing when you see be that *rme

       
    • highlandblue

      September 22, 2013 at 7:02 am

      My sister! The rhythm unplugged caught my attention too. I’m slightly jealous because Abigail is confident this friendship will last forever. Meanwhile my own… Sighs.

      I like Yomi because he’s a counsellor lol

       
      • anagail

        September 22, 2013 at 7:19 am

        LOL. My frendship with Yomi has passed through the fire. Dont be jealous:p meanwhile didnt you just say Im one of your recent ffers *eyeroll

         
      • highlandblue

        September 22, 2013 at 9:21 am

        😐

         
      • anagail

        September 22, 2013 at 10:15 am

        Insert another eye roll (listen, I get to have the last say, so no further comments thank you :p )

         
      • Mister Mo

        July 7, 2014 at 11:45 pm

        Wait! Me counsellor? I retired eons ago. Please o. What do I know?

         
  3. Mister Mo

    September 20, 2013 at 7:02 am

    Dear ‘Gail, you sure know how to make an old man grin like an idiot. My head reels reading this. Thanks for the kind words. To friendship without rest, my lady 🙂

     
    • anagail

      September 20, 2013 at 7:37 am

      *clinks glass

       

What do you think?

 
