RSS

For You…A Farewell Ode

18 Sep

brokenhearts

Never thought it would come to this
But here we are now at this place
A broken contract cannot be bliss
But love has left without a trace
I reckoned it will be okay to leave us in limbo
To be neither here nor there and not let it go
To just feel that if perhaps we don’t visit
this again and again, if we don’t commit
To the madness that comes when we think of it
Maybe you and I can live and be free from it.

I really should not sound bitter
The words I that I speak to you
Should express a ‘come hither’
But thinking of you makes me blue.
Was it really too much to hope that you would be different?
Did you have to make the agony recurrent?
Why won’t you just let the past be?
Buried like every other catastrophe
We’ve been through, these emergency
Calls will soon lose their potency

I have become tired of you
I’ve grown a thick layer of skin
Gotten over you through and through
My threshold of hurt wore thin
Tried once, tried twice, yet we end up at the very same spot
Let’s accept that right from the start we lost the plot
But if you please you can choose to remain
Stuck in time, or you may choose to refrain
From living in the past, but this I maintain
It’s over, please don’t complain.

Enough should surely be enough
I am adding this as an extra
I know that maybe it is tough
Another stanza of pure “palava”
Give it up already, after all the investments and losses
Suck it up already, no one in pain rejoices
But when you have done all you can
Yet things do not work according to plan
I’m sorry to break it to you mister man
Its was over, before it began.

I dedicate this poem to you, because I want you to forget me and move on with your life.

There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens:  a time to love and a time to hate, a time for war and a time for peace – Eccl 3: 1, 8. NIV

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 18, 2013 in Thirty-Eight

 

8 responses to “For You…A Farewell Ode

  1. anthony ndubisi okonji

    September 19, 2013 at 5:27 am

    A time to love and a time to break up. Lol

     
  2. Ivy

    September 19, 2013 at 6:14 am

    Awwwwwwwww again.

    U don strong gan. Akpo -obi. My dear chop knuckle!

     
    • anagail

      September 19, 2013 at 10:58 am

      LOl. Yeye babe :p

       
  3. famuyideolawale

    September 19, 2013 at 7:57 pm

    “Why won’t you just let the past be?” Best reason why I can be in some relationship. Some people cling to their past as if if they don’t bring it into a new relationship it won’t work. Like they are saying ” you must appreciate my past” to such I say, waka pass. Two things that will make me to walk out of a relationship is holding on to the past and Nagging.
    Nice breakup poem. *winks*

     
    • anagail

      September 20, 2013 at 7:41 am

      Yeah…Nice 😐

       
  4. highlandblue

    September 20, 2013 at 6:48 am

    I could feel the anger in this poem. And the love

     
    • anagail

      September 20, 2013 at 7:40 am

      yeah, both are there but not in equal measure.

       

What do you think?

 
