RSS

For J, Carpe Diem

13 Sep

Picture the moments, fleeting
The sunset, a smile, a touch, life
Here now and the next no more
A soft kiss, the evening breeze, breath
Now you see it, and then you don’t

For today is all that really matters
Is the gospel according to Saint Jesse
A saint you may not be but the gospel remains true
For we are not guaranteed tomorrow

So why should we on the indefinite hang our joy?
When we can have the now…the moment
Why wait? When we can seize it, feel it
Why wait, when opportunity will sail?

You live each day with the things that bring you joy
Enjoying the beauty of your life’s imperfections
The imperfections that make you unique, distinct.
The distinction between you and the rest of them.
The them you and I may never come to know
A knowledge that is reserved for the gods, we search
The search that takes us through hidden truths
The truths that only two friends can share.

You make me join you on the voyage of today
Joining the dots as they meet at the intersection
The intersections that firmly
In our hearts reveal the purest truths

Carpe Diem!

Dedicated to my friend Jesse Oguntimehin, for teaching me to make each day count.

image

P.s. I chose carpe diem for Jesse because he lives the words: ‘for we are not assured of tomorrow’.

As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend. – Provs 27:17 NLT

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 13, 2013 in Thirty-Eight

 

6 responses to “For J, Carpe Diem

  1. tianasagoh

    September 13, 2013 at 11:20 pm

    I know so little of Jesse but that little seems like so much. Warm, gentle, generous (with knowledge)
    You have amazing friends. And I enjoyed this.

     
    • anagail

      September 13, 2013 at 11:22 pm

      Yes, I actually think I have the most amazing friends 🙂

       
  2. jesseoguns

    September 15, 2013 at 7:09 am

    Awww! This is so sweet. I can’t remember the last time I had a personalised poem made just for me. I feel so special. Thanks.

    @Tiana, tenks. You’re so sweet yourself.

     
    • anagail

      September 15, 2013 at 8:55 am

      Do I need to say you are special?

       
  3. Esta

    September 15, 2013 at 3:08 pm

    I have met Jesse twice 🙂 He’s such a lovely fellow, always generous with knowledge 🙂

     
    • anagail

      September 15, 2013 at 3:14 pm

      Yes, he is 🙂

       

What do you think?

 
