RSS

For a Simple Man

13 Sep

It is so easy for me to hate you

You seem to stand for everything I’m not

Yet everything I aspire to someday become

You say life is simple and seem to live it

The laughter on your tongue does not seem to cease

You dish it out in equal measure just as you please

The irony is definitely not lost on me.

Yet,

The feeling that some day somehow we will cease to be

The friends we are to day, that our paths will cease

To cross like they do now, from my heart does not cease

I look beyond the sky beyond the stars

I try to believe that all good things do not

always come to an end and that there will always

be more where that came from, doubts…I doubt

Yet,

I choose to enjoy at this moment the friendship we share

Believing that one day when tomorrow comes

If we must say goodbye, goodnight my friend

I will take with me a memory of a friendship

Based on truth, without prejudice

Firmly rooted  like Jehoshaphat’s solstice

Which on the wounds of my heart was a poultice

efeoghene

Dedicated to my dear friend Efeoghene Ori-Jesu because he makes me believe…

p.s. I chose a free verse for Efe because that’s my concept of him, free spirited…without a care.

Walk with the wise and become wise, for a companion of fools suffers harm – Proverbs 13:20 NIV

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 13, 2013 in Thirty-Eight

 

Tags: ,

15 responses to “For a Simple Man

  1. tianasagoh

    September 12, 2013 at 11:29 pm

    Apt 🙂

     
    • anagail

      September 13, 2013 at 5:37 am

      You think 😐

       
  2. Ivy

    September 12, 2013 at 11:56 pm

    Awwwwwwwww

     
  3. Ivy

    September 12, 2013 at 11:57 pm

    Nne ogini kwanu eh? Write my own letter now, haba. Inshort I don vex, I no want again.

     
  4. famuyideolawale

    September 13, 2013 at 6:30 am

    Finally get to see the Efe. No further comment. Haha

     
    • anagail

      September 13, 2013 at 6:38 am

      Erm… *tapping fingers on table

       
  5. Nike Thaddeus

    September 13, 2013 at 6:31 am

    *singing* Flames to dust… Lovers to friends… Why do all good things come to an end?…

     
    • anagail

      September 13, 2013 at 6:44 am

      If I knew, I’d be very very rich 🙂

       
  6. highlandblue

    September 13, 2013 at 6:43 am

    I’m touched by this. Thank you dear friend.

     
    • anagail

      September 13, 2013 at 6:48 am

      Aaaaw :p :p :p

       
  7. Aarinolaoluwa

    September 13, 2013 at 4:48 pm

    Awwwwwwwwwwwww…. *wipes tears*
    I cant say I know him,but If I was asked to say something about him, > ‘free spirited…without a care.’ sums it up! 🙂

     
    • anagail

      September 13, 2013 at 6:40 pm

      Oh well… 🙂

       
  8. Esta

    September 15, 2013 at 3:13 pm

    Aawww…iLove!

     

What do you think?

 
