RSS

So, Who Did You Really Meet?

09 Sep

I have had the privilege of meeting some super nice people and making some fantastic friends in this lifetime. Recently I asked a few of my friends to tell me sincerely what they thought of me. You know like when Jesus asked his disciples: “Who do people say I am? And you who do you say I am?” The responses I got would have been confusing if it didn’t confirm something I think I already know. Except for a very few people who I have allowed to get to know me its difficult to tell who you will meet when you say “hello”.

abigirl

So, let me with this post share a few shades of me that you may have met. The list is by no means exhaustive. ๐Ÿ˜€ I mean, I am constantly evolving; slowly but surely becoming the me I want to be. So, sorry if I have changed from who I was yesterday. In fact, blame it on evolution :p

The Mother

Weird place to start considering that before I had my kids I would never have believed I have maternal instincts. But, they are there alrght. I feel it when I am moved to pick up a crying baby or when I see a child visibly upset and the mother doesn’t have a clue what to do. It also surfaces when I see a child being naughty or an adult that clearly needs taking care of. LOL. I just want to help wipe their tears.

So some people have only met the mother. The person that cares and keeps caring even when she knows she should stop. I think its also the mother part that gets really upset when people refer to kids as a nuisance or any such derogatory remarks. Or people who just won’t let children be children. When I see children hawking wares on the streets or being subjected to any form of child labour.

It’s the mother in me that swells with pride when I see children accomplishing great things ; that smiles when I hear a chiild chuckling. I am a sucker for smart kids and I just believe every child has the potentials of beng smart. Its the mother in me that emotonally reacts to the state of primary education in Nigeria.ย ย ย ย 

image

ย ย ย ย ย ย ย 

The Teacher

This is probably the part of me most people have met. Can I ever stop teaching? I doubt. The teacher actually did some traditional classroom teaching for 9 years. I taught English reading and speaking. So, you can understand why bad grammar riles me.ย 

It is the teacher in me that believes that every thing can be learned and what is learned can be unlearned. The teacher in me reacts to the failing education sector by talking about what is wrong and providing what I think are viable solutions.

The teacher in me believes that when people get something wrong they should be corrected. I also believe that you don’t test people on what you haven’t taught them. So if people are rude, I probably would blame it on their not knowing any better and that if they were taught they could be better people. I think I’m on teacher mode most of the time. (I guess a ๐Ÿ™‚ works better than a LOL)

image

The Fun-Lover

I enjoy having fun (okay, who doesn’t) People who follow me on Twitter have probably met the fun me…maybe. I enjoy laughing a lot and would really make a joke of everything…well almost. I also like seeing the humour in the most difficult circumstances. (Let me confess, this actually helps with ze blood pressure). People sometimes misunderstand this side of me. How many times have people become annoyed because of something I actually thought was funny (absolutely no sense of humour) So these days I only try to be funny with people I have formed a bonding with ๐Ÿ™‚ My elder sister is a wonderful humour-mate. So many in jokes we share! (Shallah to you big sis) There are a few other people that I’ve come to know that we shared a similar background, so they do get the jokes…thankfully. Maybe I’m just too deep for most people ๐Ÿ˜

aynmme

So I thought this was going to be only a one part post. It’s obviously not going to be. So, I should stop here and talk about other sides of me in the next post.

Selahย 

As you enter a home, give it your greeting ~ Matthew 10:12 NIV

 
16 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2013 in Thirty-Eight

 

16 responses to “So, Who Did You Really Meet?

  1. tianasagoh

    September 10, 2013 at 3:04 am

    I’m assuming the Thatcher part I keep hearing on twitter comes up tomorrow. Or have you managed to hide it somewhere in the teacher? Look how radiant smiling/laughing makes you. Please don’t stop.. ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • Esta

      September 11, 2013 at 10:08 am

      LoL @ the Thatcher part ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  2. Ebun Oluwole

    September 10, 2013 at 6:48 am

    Nice to meet you ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • anagail

      September 10, 2013 at 8:15 am

      Hope I can meet you too ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  3. famuyideolawale

    September 10, 2013 at 6:54 am

    Our first twitter interraction was when you corrected something i tweeted, now i know why you did that……madame english. :). I hope to meet the fun part one day for real. So that i can weigh the thatcher and fun part. Lol

     
  4. highlandblue

    September 10, 2013 at 8:30 am

    HAAYYYYYY English mistress had a typo in the last paragraph!

     
    • anagail

      September 10, 2013 at 8:51 am

      Dont tell me that thought went back to taught *sigh

       
    • anagail

      September 10, 2013 at 8:53 am

      Corrected for the upteenth time.

       
  5. myk3z

    September 10, 2013 at 2:22 pm

    lol, bad grammar riles you. that’s one thing we have in common…
    http://mykez.wordpress.com/2013/09/06/i-was-stupid/

     
  6. cbnwali

    September 10, 2013 at 10:04 pm

    Shalla to you too ๐Ÿ˜›

     
  7. Obafemi

    September 11, 2013 at 5:56 am

    Wonderful post, the mother is so caring, that’s why my twitter siblings & I made you our twitter mum. However, I think the teacher is trying to teach us how to read very well and not just scroll in this post with being spelt as beng, and emotionally spelt as emotonally. Thank you teacher.

     
    • anagail

      September 11, 2013 at 6:07 am

      Oh thanks for pointing out the typos ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  8. Esta

    September 11, 2013 at 10:10 am

    Nice meeting this “side” of you Abigail ๐Ÿ™‚

     

What do you think?

 
