RSS

Music and Me

06 Sep

My dad introduced us kids to music. I remember the days of the turntable. He had hundreds of albums and would buy something new when each child was born. I was told that when I was born, he went out and bought “Celestine Ukwu”. I found this amazing site where you can listen to his music. He sings in Ibo/Efik or Ibiobio I think. The track that made my dad buy it is an Efik or Ibibio song titled “Ebemi. You would love the beat if you appreciate good music. Here http://www.onlinenigeria.com/music/Celestine%20Ukwu/.

I remember, some days my dad would just play music all day and we would all sing and dance together. He would play hit after hit. We had ABBA, Bonney M, Jimmy Cliff, Sunny Ade, Ebenezer Obe, Fela, Michael Jackson, name it, he had it in his collection. He even had some classical albums as well. Growing up in that house made me develop a love and appreciation for music.

I recently read an article that talks about the relationship between a person’s mood and the music he listen’s to. How people in a bad mood often gravitate towards depressing or angry music, but how the music you listen to can actual switch your mood. Have ever listened to Aaron Copland? I just discovered him a couple of days ago, but if you are a lover of classical music you may want to give his music a try.

I have also found that sharing music with people you love can help with long distance relationships. Okay, let me explain that. If you two hardly see each other but have a song…most people call it “our” song, where “our” stands for the he and she…(okay you get that already) then it helps when you cant be together (Remember that MTN advert) yes, that’s exactly what I mean.

I remember my husband and I shared Shania Twain’s “You are still the one”. I cant help thinking of him each time the song comes on.

As the years go by, I have discovered that I have come to love certain types of music more than others. I am more of a Nigerian music lover than foreign music lover. I have come to like cool rap like what Naeto C and Efa does, I like Dare Art Alade, used to be crazy about Styl plus…until they broke up sadly, Tuface, DBanj and P square are also favourites. I also liked Dagrin, Omawunni, Waje, Tiwa Savage and Olamide.

My regular play list features some foreign artists like Barbara Cartland, Bon jovi, Bruno Mars, Carrie Underwood, Eric Clapton, India Arie, Michael Bolton, Spice Girls, and Vonda Shepard. The list keeps growing.

I have had my share of depressing moments and I have found the research findings very true.

People can successfully improve their moods and boost their overall happiness in just two weeks, according to Ferguson’s research based on the type of music they listen to continually- published in The Journal of Positive Psychology

People who are going through break-ups or having relationship problems prefer music and experiences that reflect their negative mood – published in Journal of Consumer Research

How many times have I been saved by music? I have cried to “Jesus takes the wheel” by Carrie Underwood and smiled through Vonda Shepard’s “Something about love”

And can you underestimate the value of spiritually up-building songs? Those times when the family sat together and came up with acapella renditions of religious music and then recorded were one of the most glorious times of growing up.

Okay, I’m making this a very short post cos I need to go listen to some music now.

Meanwhile, what’s on your playlist you think I might like πŸ™‚

p.s I have Daft PunK already.

Is anyone among you suffering? Let him pray. Is anyone cheerful? Let him sing praise. – James 5:13 ESV

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2013 in General

 

15 responses to “Music and Me

  1. anthony ndubisi okonji

    September 6, 2013 at 4:26 am

    I still think that Ije enu is the best hit of Celestine Okwu. As for Jazz misic Yanni is the best

     
    • anagail

      September 6, 2013 at 5:15 am

      The man Celestine Ukwu is a legend πŸ™‚

       
  2. Obafemi

    September 6, 2013 at 6:59 am

    We share some of the same music tastes. Up till today, I still have a growing folder of sunny ade, obey, adeolu akinsanya, fashola. Suprisingly I enjoy igbo songs too, oliver de coque & osita osadebe tops my list. Basically because I love strings & Highlife music offers that. Jim rex lawson, etc are favorites too. Music is very therapeautic it releases feel good hormones like dopamine. People often wonder why iso dowdy when it comes to music. But its simple, they offer more in terms of quality than present day songs.

     
    • anagail

      September 6, 2013 at 7:33 am

      LOL. Thanks for the post πŸ™‚

       
  3. highlandblue

    September 6, 2013 at 8:01 am

    You people were brought up on certain types of music by your parents now you think those oldies are the best. You won’t even try Wizkid or Burna Boy or Omawumi. I have nothing to say about this post. *walks into sunset*

     
    • anagail

      September 6, 2013 at 8:10 am

      Come on I listen to Wizkid (Holler at your boy) and Omawunmi is on my playlist. But those oldies…goodies:)

       
  4. tianasagoh

    September 6, 2013 at 8:29 am

    The happy child and fitfam part of me loves nigerian tunes cuz they always have danceable beats (I don’t have to listen to all the lyrics – don’t really marra). The hopeful romantic part of me loves foreign songs especially oldies. Had the Bruno Mars album on replay since yesterday & it made time just fly magically. In Nigeria, only Waje comes close here me.

     
    • tianasagoh

      September 6, 2013 at 8:30 am

      *for me

       
    • anagail

      September 6, 2013 at 8:37 am

      Seems I have your playlist. LOL

       
  5. Aarinolaoluwa

    September 6, 2013 at 9:04 am

    #BIGGRIN I looooooooove music!
    I recently Migrated to christian music, cos the songs that are around now?…. #Sigh
    Lynda Randle(Through it all), Wynonna Judd (Testify to Love esp!), Kim Brurell(With You), Moriah Peters (Welldone). Oldies? KSA and Ebenezer Obey!!! (Grew up on these, Boyz II Men, Tina Turner, Lionel Richie (My parents’ ‘Our song’ was stuck on you )The late Whitney Houston :(. Loved Stylplus too!!! 😦 , Jmartins, Omawunmi, NaetoC, Asa… endless list LOL. I’m on a ‘clean music diet’ lol so I’m selective….. #okbye

     
    • anagail

      September 6, 2013 at 9:08 am

      Thanks for sharing. We should always be selective. I will check out the artistes yu mentoned I’ve not met.

       
  6. myk3z

    September 6, 2013 at 9:08 am

    Have you ever listened to coldplay?.. Yea, they do rock music but really cool rock music.. Especially those ones that make you cry. Great post
    http://mykez.wordpress.com/2013/09/06/i-was-stupid/

     
    • anagail

      September 6, 2013 at 9:10 am

      I had a couple of their songs in the past. I’d have to check them out again. Thanks.

       
  7. Esta

    September 6, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    I love music now because it’s an integral part of my work. I was not really a music lover when I was growing πŸ™‚

     
    • anagail

      September 7, 2013 at 5:22 am

      πŸ™‚ happy to hear this.

       

What do you think?

 
