RSS

I Wish (2)

10 Aug

As I wake to each new day, it wakes with me
This love that I kept neatly stored away
In the deepest recesses of my heart
Hoping you don’t see it
Hoping you never hear it
In the way your name rolls off my tongue
Ebubechukwu, Ebubechukwu

Nine days, just nine days it would have been
If we were not plagued by this curse
If we didn’t have to count like the Almighty
And apply his rules
The very rules
Of the Isrealites wilderness trek
A day for a year, a day for a year

The mountains we have to climb to be one
The rivers we have to cross to be together
I fear the weight will be too much
Your heart would give up
Your poor heart of glass
If I placed this weight on, it would break
Crash to smitherings, tiny smitherings

You said the years don’t mean a thing
That what you feel is so deep it would cover
It would cover all my faults forever
Too good to be true
Just too good it can’t be true
If I believed you and took this jump
I would fall, I would fall badly

And so I lie here typing this as fast as I can
Hoping I don’t have to give it a read over
So I don’t feed the lump in my throat
Threatening to grow
Forcing me to rethink
Cos I hope that when this gets to you
You’ll see the truth it speaks, it tricks

“I am sorry but I cannot love you,
My heart has been sold to another before you.
He calls me wife and I return the favour.
So even though my heart beats for you,
My duty remains to him and those I bore for him.
They call me mother and them I call child”

As I wake to each new day, it wakes with me
This love that I kept neatly stored away
In the deepest recesses of my heart
Hoping you don’t see it
Hoping you never hear it
In the way your name rolls off my tongue
Ebubechukwu, Ebubechukwu

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2013 in Poetry

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “I Wish (2)

  1. famuyideolawale

    August 10, 2013 at 8:30 pm

    Awwwwww. Felt like I’ve stabbed, machete, even maced. Let me go and read the first part. That will be a good one to sleep on. This part 2 is heart tearing.

     
    • anagail

      August 11, 2013 at 7:02 am

      *sigh. When you fall in love with the ‘wrong’ person, it can be one ‘heart tearing’ experience.

       
  2. Ablad

    August 11, 2013 at 5:55 am

    Good work! Please what does Ebubechukwu mean?

     
    • anagail

      August 11, 2013 at 6:58 am

      It can be roughly translated God’s gloriousness, wonderousness or fear inspiring nature

       

What do you think?

 
