RSS

I know I Miss You, But I Lied

02 Jul

I have thought about this over and over

Knowing deep in my heart that all I’m thinking could be wrong

Now it occurs to me after all these months and years

Of believing the sad lie, the sad truth wrapped around a lie

Wanting so much to defend it, to live for it, to die with it.

 

I have thought this over and over again

Mouthing the words, caressing the letters, the shape of it

I tried to say the words three score times or maybe four

See, I have always known this and I thought you knew too

See, did I not tell you that words mean nothing but actions do

You tried, I give that to you

Of all I have come to know you stand out

Unimpressed by my repressed verbosity

 

But, that little word you so hated

Until we parted

Till the day we parted.

 

I know someday in this

Lifetime or maybe

In the next

Eternity will be ours

Death defied

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 2, 2013 in Poetry

 

Tags:

3 responses to “I know I Miss You, But I Lied

  1. famuyideolawale

    July 2, 2013 at 6:54 am

    Hmm…nice but sad.

     
  2. Johnsonedu

    July 2, 2013 at 1:50 pm

    Real emotions turned into words…I like it.

     

What do you think?

 
