RSS

Journey to Friendship

23 Jun

One day, it was
Just under the bridge
Near Kosofe street
I met him standing
Looking lost to the world
And there I think I found
A friend I’d love in kind.

We started the journey of friendship so true
We walked for one mile or should I say two
And then it became obvious to me and him too
You can’t be friends for too long
If you don’t share much in common
Friendship means common interests
Even if you disagree
You can’t disagree on everything
And still friends be

One day, it was
On a trip to the salon
Along Awolowo way
Close to the bridge
We parted ways
Hoping to meet
To part again

Another day it was
At a conference in Abuja
He spoke animatedly
On a topic we both care for
Finally, I’d found him I said to me
Surely, this is he
The friend I seek

I summoned up courage and walked right up to him
I introduced myself he seemed astounded at my courage
I asked if we could be friends and he seemed more surprised
I like your boldness said he, why not, why not
The journey ended shortly because you see
He felt he was the leader and should teach me to be
A me I didn’t know, I didn’t like, I couldn’t see
You can’t really be friends
If the other can’t see you for you

Another day it was
At a dinner in Abuja
The guests were gathered
He spoke
With pomposity
I rose and took a walk
And never looked back

So what makes a true friend?
What attributes do you seek?
Love, trust, patience, long suffering
Trueness, goodness, mildness, self-control?

Someone who will be there for you?
Someone who understands you?
Someone who listens to you?
Someone who will not judge you?

Keep searching
For as you search you will see
The way to find a true friend
Is to choose one to be

You will be bitten
Once, twice or many thrice
But you must learn to keep walking and working
Till you find that which you are seeking

Because really
If you take time to think of it
A friend is a friend
As long as he stays a friend.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2013 in Poetry

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Journey to Friendship

  1. famuyideolawale

    June 23, 2013 at 11:30 am

    The good book says, he that need a friend must show himself friendly. The keys to lasting friendships are
    trust, respect, honesty, and loyalty. But hey, lasting friendship is not easy to maintain.

     
    • anagail

      June 23, 2013 at 11:43 am

      I think its really sad when you believe you are being friendly but get the short end of the stick. Sometimes, it feels soo good to crawl back into your shell and stay there

       
      • famuyideolawale

        June 23, 2013 at 2:06 pm

        Talking about crawling back into ones shell, I think that has been my strategy for some years now, ones I try to be a friend and you give me an attitude, I will just withdraw, so that I can protect what is left of my integrity.

         
  2. barbarictimes

    August 8, 2013 at 8:54 am

    Well, these days, I don’t try. I think I’ve got all the friends I need. But lately, some of them seem to drift.

     

What do you think?

 
