RSS

Murder in the First Degree

23 Jan

Murderer!

You murdered love
What sort of beast does that?

Love
Seated quietly,gently
Eyes flashing a smile
A smile without any guile
Reminding us of the cool evening breeze
Like the sweet caress of the squeeze
The release of pheromes into the night air with so much ease.

Love
Walking gayly, brazenly
Speaking soothing words like surds
Reminding us of how irrational we can be
When we meet that someone we see
To be the only one meant for we
We become voiceless like the letter ‘p’.

You murdered love.

Did I not give you enough
Even when times were rough
Did I get tough
Did I cough
Out anything vile
Did I raise bile
Didn’t I smile
Always and say to you just a little while

Was I not always there for you
Even when I knew
That the scent that you
Had on you your shirt blue
Was a clue
That there was another
Another lover
Another lover with greater power
The one you call Sugar.

I gave you my love
But you chose her or him or it
The more I tried
The more you prefered
her or him or it
I even cried
Please leave her or him or it
but no…no

You murdered love

And now seated here
Half a score years of queer
Battered bruised and disillusioned
Pained, harrowed and neglected
Crazed, maddened, condemned
To a life without love
Because love died

You mudered  love
And love died because you
You taught me well and I learnt
I learnt to forget
I learnt to forget to love
I learnt to to forget to love anyone including you.

You murdered love
You murdered me.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2013 in Poetry

 

2 responses to “Murder in the First Degree

  1. Romantic Dominant

    January 23, 2013 at 11:02 am

    visceral

     
  2. Noel Ihebuzor

    March 12, 2013 at 11:02 am

    powerful!

     

What do you think?

 
