RSS

Once Upon a Friend

13 Dec

I had a very bad dream
I found myself in a world where you and I were no longer besties.
I found myself in a place where you and I no longer spoke jesties
I found myself in a time when you and I no longer shared nesties
I found myself in a season where you and I couldn’t be pesties

You and I were a team
We could talk for hours without end about nothing at all
We could be silent for hours without feeling the long haul
We could laugh for hours without taking the wrong call
We could cry on each others shoulder stop each other from making a fall

How will this really seem?
To our mutual friends, what will we say made us part?
Will we say we were forced to put the horse before the cart?
Will we say we had a fight over a game of darts?
Or will we say we couldn’t bear the smell of the other’s fart?

Wake me up, for this dream has become a nightmare
Shake me up, for this night has torn my heart bare
Cheer me up, for this day has brought with it despair

Do not leave me, please spare me this pain.
Stay on with me, my love for you will not wane.
Bear with me, even when I’m proud and act vain

For I am only human and can only walk the ways of man.

A man that hath friends must shew himself friendly: and there is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother.~Prov 18:24 – King James Bible “Authorized Version”.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2012 in Poetry

 

5 responses to “Once Upon a Friend

  1. ifeanyi Martins

    December 13, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    Nothing wrong with shedding a tear or writing a poem or a story……if it will make you feel better. Nice one Aby.

     
    • anagail

      December 14, 2012 at 6:46 am

      Thank you Ify:)

       
  2. Mark Amaza

    December 13, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    The part about ‘farting’ made me laugh.
    But this is a touching poem, especially when you added one of my favorite Bible verses at the end.

     
  3. Noel Ihebuzor

    December 20, 2012 at 3:18 am

    Abigail, a true friend never leaves you. A true friend stays through thick and thin, through “sick and sin”. Nice poem. “Light but nice”

     
  4. akeemagali

    January 4, 2013 at 7:11 am

    The truth is, everyone is going to hurt you. You just got to find the ones worth suffering for.

     

What do you think?

 
