RSS

The Lover in My Dream

12 Nov

Staring off into space in wonder
One minute passes and then another
As I ponder
My thoughts I chew up as fodder
How can two hearts that beat
With so much love be never allowed to meet?

The day we met each other
A virtual meet like none other
We discover
You and I were meant to be together
How can we remain so tied
To things that force our love far apart to reside.

Destined not to sit together
Fate laughs deep throated at our trauma
We deliver
Our sacrifice Cupid turns down with no bother
How can we overcome this pain
We feel when we choose to treat each other with such disdain?

Each night I sit up in my bed
Hoping your heart to me will be led
The feelings for the other you’ll shed
Someday you and I in church will wed.

I cry. My eyes brim over with tears
Hoping the tears will wash off my fears
Fears that you’ll never call me your dear
That the other you’ll always prefer

Are you destined to remain the lover in my dream?

Expectations postponed makes the heart sick – Proverbs 13:12

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2012 in Poetry

 

4 responses to “The Lover in My Dream

  1. @kupiejay

    November 12, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    W:OW. Beautifully written. I love this.

     
    • anagail

      November 12, 2012 at 12:55 pm

      Thank you. I love it too, so much i didnt want to share

       
  2. Simon

    November 12, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    Somehow the words in this poem say the things I can’t get out of my mind.

     
  3. Dammie (shoshanah)

    November 22, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    I love! love!! love!!!……maybe cos I relate…loool.

     

What do you think?

 
