RSS

When Its Your Time

18 Oct

They say troubles come in two’s and three’s
This is four, nay five and I’m yet to be free
This work palava
Landlord wahala
School fees… whatever
Feeding? Don’t bother

As I woke up this morning
Watched the rain that’s falling
Thinking of my troubles aflowing
Hoping for respite acoming

Listen
I just heard my phone beep
On the line a voice deep
Asking: can you a job keep?
I wondered: is this sleep?
Six figure pay? I don leap!

Listen,
I fell on my knees, I did weep
Praises to God, I did heap
Just like that, in one sweep
Went from walking, to own jeep
Sho’ers of blessing, I did reap

Listen,
When it’s your time
It’s your time
You may pass through grime
Not owning a dime
When it’s time, you’ll climb

Listen,
When it’s your time
It’s your time
When God wants to change your clime
On table of kings you’ll dine
No one can stop your shine

I have seen something else under the sun; the race is not for the swift or the battle for the strong, nor does food come to the wise or wealth to the brilliant or favour to the learned but time and chance happen to them all~Eccl 9:11

 
14 Comments

Posted by on October 18, 2012 in Poetry

 

14 responses to “When Its Your Time

  1. @kupiejay

    October 18, 2012 at 8:06 am

    So beautiful. So lyrical. Few words describing powerful emotions. Beautiful.

     
  2. Ifeanyi

    October 18, 2012 at 8:55 am

    Womderful rhyme scheme, kinda love that.

     
  3. Gbengasays

    October 18, 2012 at 9:01 am

    I love this….I really do

     
  4. Tunde

    October 18, 2012 at 9:32 am

    I am looking at the clock of expectation now and I know it’s about to be my time!!! Encouraging piece, thanks for sharing.

     
  5. Azubbie

    October 18, 2012 at 9:54 am

    Great piece. Encouraging, greatly encouraging

     
  6. @rukkie

    October 18, 2012 at 10:10 am

    I’m truly encouraged! Always believed that nothing’s permanent. With patience, faith and hope, an egg will surely walk! Excellent piece ma.

     
  7. Olufunmi

    October 18, 2012 at 11:00 am

    I can so relate with this…. Such an uplifting one. Perfect soul-food…

     
  8. Damilola Wright

    October 18, 2012 at 12:05 pm

    HE is truly a God of timing and perfection!

     
  9. @s_Hotzs

    October 18, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    Its gonna be my time soon!!!

     
  10. Segebee

    October 18, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    Lovely. Inspiring

     
  11. Dupe Killa (@dupekilla)

    October 18, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    So true, great job, our Abby 🙂

     
  12. misterolu

    October 20, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    Lovely…when it’s your time, it’s your time

     
  13. Noel Ihebuzor

    October 26, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    Ogechi ka nma! God’s time is best! Rewards await those who wait on HIM in faith!

     

What do you think?

 
