RSS

Goodbye

29 Jun

I remember the time
Time stood still for you and I
I couldn’t eat cos you were not nigh
When if you walked by
My heart beat a patter like I would die

I remember the time
The birds of heaven up above
Hovered and sang of our great love
When if you I thought of
My heart soared and dipped like a dove

I remember the time
When the young Cupid’s arrow
Tore through joints and e’en my marrow
When if you had any sorrow
With me you’d share your now and tomorrow

I remember the time
When down the beach we walked
In my dreams and we just talked
When if I had but stalked
My love for you would never have balked

But those times are now gone
I let you go cos your heart is won
By another. This race we run
Can only go all in all to one
Only one can truly be your hon’

And now my heart is torn
Through years of use my heart is worn
And settled with feelings so forlorn
Take out the trumpet, blow the horn
In silence. Goodbye.

Love…is not self seeking. Love never fails.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2012 in Poetry

 

9 responses to “Goodbye

  1. JUWAH Patrick

    June 29, 2012 at 6:32 am

    This is beautiful… Brings back memories of my… *Sealed lips!*

     
  2. JUWAH Patrick

    June 29, 2012 at 6:33 am

    Hmmmm… Wht d heck do u writers see around us dat we normal humans don’t see?!

     
  3. jennifer

    June 29, 2012 at 6:53 am

    Lovely

     
  4. Mark Amaza

    June 29, 2012 at 6:57 am

    I love the last line most: Love is not self-seeking….Love is not selfish.
    Beautiful poem

     
  5. R Timoffe Jomilaye

    June 29, 2012 at 7:10 am

    I love this, understandable to a layman like me.

     
  6. BragginRightz

    June 29, 2012 at 9:05 am

    I can bet every guy before they eventually marry (that’s if they marry) would have had so many cases of love-lives gone ‘south’ like this.

    Personally I can relate with this, maybe because it’s sad.
    Maybe I’m just naturally sad \\(˘⌣˘)// .

    Nice write-up.

     
  7. chika N

    June 29, 2012 at 10:07 am

    Truly I remembered a lot. thanks its a mind exercise.

     
  8. Obafemi

    June 29, 2012 at 10:55 am

    Letting Go is Very Challenging and to say the Truth, There still remains a remnant of an Ex no matter how much you try.

     
  9. akeemagali

    June 29, 2012 at 2:54 pm

    Love never fails.

     

What do you think?

 
